Milton Heritage Trail
Follow this heritage trail to uncover the stories behind Milton's historic buildings, including the iconic brewery.

About Milton Heritage Trail
The Milton Heritage Trail reveals glimpses of the area’s history, from its war-time activity to becoming one of Brisbane’s premier restaurant hubs.
It features historical sites and stories, including:
- Salvation Army Rescue Home, established to provide shelter and support for vulnerable women in the 1880s
- the XXXX Brewery
- 'Savoir Faire', Brisbane's first alfresco dining precinct.
Milton Heritage Trail map
There are 17 points of interest along the trail.
Follow the loop circuit from Park Road, along Coronation Drive to Cribb Street and Railway Terrace.
For addresses of all trail stops and suggested route between stops, download the trail guide.
Points of interest

This timber building was constructed in 1888. It is a good example of a 19th Century shop and residence in Milton.

‘Savoir Faire’ was Brisbane’s first alfresco dining precinct when it opened in 1988.

Milton House is one of Brisbane’s oldest houses and was built in the 1850s.

This was the site of the Salvation Army Rescue Home, established to provide shelter and support for vulnerable women in the 1880s.

John Oxley surveyed this reach of the Brisbane River in 1823 and again in 1824.

Cook Terrace was built between 1888 and 1889. It is one of Brisbane’s remaining blocks of terrace houses.

Milton has always been susceptible to flooding. In 1893, the area experienced Brisbane’s worst recorded flood event.

This was one of the most fashionable venues in Brisbane, when it first opened in the 1960s.

Site of the furniture factory built on the corner in 1911.

Two sets of terrace houses were built along Cribb Street between 1887 and 1890. They have since been demolished.

The sanitary disposal depot processed the area’s rubbish and sewerage.

The tramway workshops were established in 1930 and comprised of workshops, car sheds and administrative offices.

Industry thrived in Milton. By the 1940s, several large factories were established in the suburb, including Morrows' Biscuit Factory.

The area that is now part of Suncorp Stadium (formerly known as Lang Park) was originally the site of the North Brisbane Burial Ground.

This concrete structure was built as an air raid shelter during World War II.

There has been a brewery on this site from as early as the 1870s.

This majestic house was built between 1865 and 1868, as the residence of Brisbane’s first Anglican bishop, Edward Tufnell.